Issue Tracking System Help 
 
Issues Tracking System Administrator's Guide 
 
Managing Users And User Rights 
 
Deleting an Issues Tracking System User Profile
 

You have to be an ITS administrator in order to be able to delete an user profile from the Issues Tracking System (ITS) product / product category , or at least one of the user groups you belong into must have right to manage users .

If the user which profile you are going to delete has some issues opened (he/she is listed any issue's 'opener' or assignee), ITS will prompt you to specify another user which will replace the deleted user in these issues records.

By deleting an user profile you might not actually delete the user from ITS. By deleting user profile you just delete the profile for current ITS product / product category. The user might still have his profile defined for other ITS products / product categories . To completely delete the user you must delete his/her user profiles for all products / product categories .

Please, see 'Delete User' Page documentation for more information about how to delete ITS user account.

Issue Tracking System Databases Overview

Issues Tracking System (ITS) allows to track issues of multiple products / product categories. For performance scalability reasons ITS keeps issues data for each product / product category in separate Issues Database (each of them might be located on different server).

ITS uses single Users Database to keep information about all ITS users on single place. Having just one Users Database allows to share user data, such as login id, password, e-mail address in one place, so just one login is needed to use multiple ITS products / product categories. Also, when changing information such as e-mail address or password, this information needs to be changed just once, instead of for each product, as it would be when each Issues Database would contain it's own user data.

To allow to define different user roles for each product / product category, each Issues Database contain also it's User Data. User Data of the Issues Database defines subset of users from the Users Database and user roles for each user from the subset. This allows to define different user roles for each product / product category. For example an user might be a developer for one product and the same user might be just product end-user of another ITS product.

You can delete an user from Users Database if you are an ITS administrator for any product / product category, and you already deleted the user profile for the product / product category. Second attempt to delete the user will remove user's record from the Users Database. However, be aware that if the user has still his/her profile defined for other product / product category, ITS will restore user's record in Users Database when the user log's into ITS for that product. Therefore, to completely delete the user you must delete the user's profile for all products / product categories and then delete the user profile from Users Database.

See Also

'Delete User' Page, 'Add New User' Page, User Profile Update Page'User Groups Rights' Page, Logging into ITS